One Day …

*

One day things will different.

One day my heart will stop racing;

One day I will stop forgetting to eat;

One day I will stop myself before screaming at my child for not using his knife properly when I’m too tired to even hold mine;

One day I will no longer feel this physically and mentally wiped out.

One day I will stop having to sacrifice the time which belongs to my child, for a supplier  much less capable of self-organisation than myself

One day I will stop working all day and then most of the night to barely make a deadline – 6 out of 7 times a week

One day I will stop being terrified of opening mail;

One day I will stop feeling guilty for writing for me, when I should be writing for someone else

One day I might be able to offer 100 percent of me, to one thing, at one time;

One day I will succeed at something and make something of myself

One day I will stop ‘just existing’

One day I will stop saying ‘One day … ‘

*

Self-indulgent and grotesque in the larger scale of things but this is how it is this month. We’ll get through it. We always do.

*

MJM

This entry was posted in Anger, Creative Writing, Home, Kids, Life Stuff, Parenting, Philosophising, Single Mum, Single parenthood, Starting out as a single working parent, Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Day …

  1. Ally says:

    *Hugs*

    There with you.

  2. Him Up North says:

    Don’t stop saying, “one day…”. It’s good to aspire.

    I’ve no doubt all those things will happen. One day.

  3. Kirsty says:

    Yes, one day you will get to just where you want to be. But don’t forget, you are already succeeding at things every day.

    • Blimey, what positive way of looking at it. Seem to be going backwards in my eyes. Not as good at anything as I used to be and not able to invest time/training/money in anything new. Feel like a dog chasing its tail, but thank you. I have to get there so I will :-) Somehow! x

Leave a Reply

